Skip navigation

This is a step by step view of how I processed my raw images. I used Adobe Photoshop CS4. Each individual image can be seen at a higher resolution when clicked on.

1| Using the square Marquee tool highlighted on the left, I drew a selection box around the subject.

2| Right clicking on the box gave me a number of options. I used “Layer via Cut”. I then had a new layer consisting of just the square selection of the subject.

3| In blending options, I blackened the background using “Colour Overlay”

4| To make the image black & white, I used a black and white adjustment layer. Adjustment layers can be accessed at the bottom of the ‘Layers’ panel.

5| Additionally, I created an adjustment layer to alter ‘Curves’

6| The ‘Curves’ adjustment layer produced a number of different tools upon clicking on it. For my desired effect I increased the black level output using the black slider arrow highlighted. The new contrasts tended to need around a 160-180 value in black output, but the odd few needed a touch more or a little less for the desired effect, as the blacks could be overpowering.

7| Because of this black output increase, a lot of detail was missing from the clothing, a key study of my work. With the black 7 white adjustment layer, certain colour tones from the original colour image can be blackened or whitened according to the editor’s preference. A number of sliders representing said colour channels can be seen in the adjustments panel. Because of the subject’s clothing colour, the fabric was greatly emphasised by whitening the magenta channel, darkening the blue, lightening the cyan and annihilating the green channel almost entirely. While the red and yellow channels did apply a little to the clothing, these channels primarily made up the skin tone. To increase the desired contrast and to really make the light source look very harsh and white, I darkened the yellow and red channels slightly to darken the skin. This gave a fantastic silhouette/outline hybrid design which met all of my targets from the annotations that I wanted to bring forward into my work.

8|  With the tonal range set, I just had to remove any remaining fragments of the image that weren’t exclusively the subject. The grey wall was blackened earlier using the curve tool so all that was left was some of the trampoline and detail around the foot. I used magic erase to erase the bigger planes of white that remained.

9| Now to remove the smaller details remaining around the feet with the eraser tool. I used a hard brush to keep a precise line around the foot.

10| Finished image.

Leave a Reply

