Skip navigation

  • Gallery- Blow up prints of good enough quality. Rental space and time for display. Guest list.
  • Book- Blurb.com photo book, around £20, takes a lot of time for it to be printed.
  • Presentation slideshow in class, what about examiner?
  • Digital photo frame- quite expensive, small screen.
  • Video with music- tone of falling works well with music, evident in researched criteria.
  • Magazine- fashion related due to materials
  • Facebook Gallery
  • Flickr Gallery
  • Own website- expense?
  • Mysterious flyer publication- risk of them taken down

My workbook for this unit is presented on the internet. I did this to see if presenting work on a non physical format is viable as a substitute for physical presentation. Since deciding to do this I’ve wondered if my final image presentation could do this as well. With past projects I’ve always been aware of what I’m doing to the environment. For 2 of the modules I’ve produced a photo book which I’ve received via mail order. The natural resources used by shipping this too me are substantial. Similarly, the paper it’s made from could be saved if I didn’t present my work physically. The internet is a powerful resource which gains momentum every day. All I’m using by showing my workbook online is server space that would be used anyway, and an electrical current, which again would be put to use regardless of whether I’m using it or not. It’s for this reason I’m presenting my work in the most environmentally friendly way I can. There are drawbacks to this however. Server failure, power outage, hard drive errors could all lead to my work disappearing. It’s because of this I’m utilising a backup system. Every page of workbook, every image and video is backed up locally on two personal computers, an external hard drive and a USB flash drive. Each page is written locally on office software where there’s an auto-save feature in case of power outage, and then copied and pasted to the blogging service. These are extra precautions I’ve deemed necessary to keep my work safe which may be a hindrance for some people. But I feel I’d rather take these precautions than pollute the environment from aeroplane and train fuels from a book being shipped to me.

Presenting work online has another great advantage. It’s easier than ever to share with the world through vastly expanding social networks. In the last few years, social networks have allowed people to share information without a popular or established website of their own. By posting a link on a social network, it caould spread like wildfire from person to person through word of mouth marketing. Here’s a screen shot of some promotion I did on the popular site facebook.com.

I used another hugely successful social networking site, twitter.com.

Just by posting on 2 websites, in excess of 600 people are now aware of the link and they can pass it on to whomever they wish. It’s an incredible tool to show people your work.

Because of the majority of the photography I’ve studied in preparation for this module was presented in a moving image format readily found on the internet, I’ve been thinking the only way for me to present my work is in the same way. Though I’d love to display my images in a gallery with huge prints and visitors, I’m not currently in the financial position for this to be a viable option. The most used user-generated video source on the internet is YouTube.com. For me to successfully utilise this service I’ll have to transform my images into a video medium. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to experiment, using a combination of video footage and still images. I took a few short video clips of the model on the day of the shoot which I can include. A major drawback of YouTube.com is advertisements during playback. They can be closed immediately but may deter from the viewing experience. I’ve research into other websites such as Vimeo.com and Dailymotion.com, both of which have advertisements too. Vimeo supports ad-less videos but only if a premium is paid. YouTube’s video quality and worldwide accessibility is what draws me to use their service.

Because of the slowed motion feeling of the images I think it’ll be very effective if I very slowly pan over the images so it looks like the model is slowly following. I’ve done a few experiments with this and if panned slowly enough, the images look like they could be super slow motion moving images. While researching building and structural photography, I came across some information about Andreas Gursky. He presents his work on huge canvas prints to emulate his subjects of huge towering structures. I was intrigued by this idea of presenting on a high resolution, high clarity format for the viewer to have the best visual experience when looking at my work. Fortunately YouTube has a high definition feature. I’ll be compiling my final images into a video, slowly panning the images, showing moving footage as well and it’ll be to a musical backdrop. Without musical accompaniment the viewers’ attention may not be held. Music choice is vital though; it could go wrong very easily. It could deter the meaning of the photographs or enhance it. The music I’ve chosen is a song by Flying Lotus called “Tea Leaf Dancers”. It’s chilled out, and suits the placid tone of the imagery. It enhances the work’s message while not overpowering the subtle photographs. It could be seen as the abstract art equivalent of music so I think it’s very fitting.

Leave a Reply

